Thursday, June 12, 2008

Fifth District Court of Appeals Democratic Candidates

For 5th District Court of Appeals, Place 3

For 5th District Court of Appeals, Place 6

For 5th District Court of Appeals, Place 8

The Texas District Courts of Appeals are distributed in fourteen districts around the state of Texas. The Courts of Appeal have intermediate appellate jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases appealed from district or county courts. Like the Texas Supreme Court and Court of Criminal Appeals, Justices of the Texas Courts of Appeals are elected to six-year terms by general election. Appeals from Collin, Dallas, Kaufman, Rockwall and Grayson counties (map) are all heard by the 5th District Court of Appeals, which includes one Chief Justice and 12 and twelve other Justices. In the 2008 General Election Democratic Candidates are running for three of those twelve 5th Court of Appeals places. Both civil and criminal appeals are typically heard by a panel of three justices, unless in a particular case an en banc hearing is ordered, in which instance all the justices of that Court hear and consider the case. (Graphical Guide to the Court System of Texas)
Click on the Texas District Courts of Appeals
district numbers in the map below.
Courts of Appeals by District 7th Court of Appeals - Amarillo 8th Court of Appeals - El Paso 11th Court of Appeals - Eastland 2nd Court of Appeals - Fort Worth 5th Court of Appeals - Dallas 6th Court of Appeals - Texarkana 12th Court of Appeals - Tyler 10th Court of Appeals - Waco 9th Court of Appeals - Beaumont 14th Court of Apeals - Houston 1st Court of Appeals - Houston 3rd Court of Appeals - Austin 13th Court of Appeals - Corpus Christi 4th Court of Appeals - San Antonio
  1. Houston
  2. Fort Worth
  3. Austin
  4. San Antonio
  5. Dallas
  6. Texarkana
  7. Amarillo
  8. El Paso
  9. Beaumont
  10. Waco
  11. Eastland
  12. Tyler
  13. Corpus Christi
  14. Houston

No comments:

Post a Comment