Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Plano City Council Place 7 Runoff Election - June 18, 2011

Plano voters reelected two incumbents and elected one newcomer to the Plano City Council in the May 14, 2011 election, while a fourth race for Place 7 will be decided in a runoff election on Saturday June 18th. Early voting starts Monday June 6th. All Plano City residents registered to vote in Collin Co. may vote in this election.

Pat Miner, André Davidson and Jim Duggan were clear winners, but Greg Myer and Pat Gallagher will head into a June 18 runoff election for Council Place 7, since no Place 7 candidate received 50 percent of the votes.

Myer, an information technology project manager, drew 40.3 percent of the vote and Gallagher, a retired executive and Addison police officer, received 36.7 percent. Myer, who ran unsuccessfully for the position in 2008, knocked on thousands of doors and was bolstered by an endorsement from the influential Collin County Association of Realtors. Gallagher, a virtual unknown in Plano politics before this year, did surprisingly well. The third person in the Place 7 race, Mark Greer, a businessman who has been active in civic affairs, ran a distant third with 23 percent of the vote.

Early voting for the Saturday June 18th runoff election between Gallagher and Myer for Council Place 7 is scheduled to run from Monday June 6th through Tuesday June 14th.

Sun Mon 6/6
Tue 6/7
Wed 6/8
Thur 6/9
Fri 6/10
Sat 6/11
Sun Mon 6/13
Tue 6/14
Wed Thur Fri Sat 6/18

The usual early voting locations around the City of Plano will be open. The major exception is that Davis Library rather than Christ United Methodist Church will be the substitute location for Carpenter Rec Center, since the Rec Ctr remains close for renovation until Aug. 2011.

Full location information and sample ballots for the June 18th special election will be posted on the Collin Co. Elections website a few days after Plano holds the "Drawing for Ballot Placement" on Thursday May 19, 2011.

League of Women Voters of Plano/Collin County Voters Guide - Plano City Council

Early Voting Locations for McKinney and Plano City Runoff Elections
Collin County Elections
(Main Early Voting Location)
2010 Redbud Blvd, Suite 102 McKinney
Christopher A. Parr Library 6200 Windhaven Pkwy. Plano
Collin College - Central Park Campus 2200 W University Dr McKinney
Collin College - Spring Creek Campus 2800 East Spring Creek Plano
Haggard Library 2501 Coit Rd Plano
Harrington Library 1501 18th Street Plano
Maribelle M. Davis Library 7501-B Independence Parkway Plano
McKinney Fire Station #5 6600 W. Virginia Parkway McKinney
McKinney Performing Arts Center 111 N. Tennessee St McKinney
Plano ISD Administration Center 2700 West 15th Street Plano

No comments:

Post a Comment